Celebrating Easter Yes or No?

Do you celebrate Easter?

I have been hearing many peoples different take on Easter. Some people I love and respect very much have chosen to not celebrate this year. They believe that this is a pagan holiday that is exploited by the catholic church(who altered our calendars) and the party industry(who are just wanting to make more money). I see where they are coming from. If we acknowledge that Jesus died on Friday, good Friday, then was dead on Saturday and rose on Sunday…then He was only dead a day and a half not the 3 days that was prophesied.  Also the Sabbath is actually Friday sunset to Saturday sunset not Sunday as many of us have been wrongly taught. You only see the Jewish and the Seventh Day Adventist actually  still following that beautiful biblical truth. So to these precious friends, this is an offense to The Lord.

I get the logic.

I understand their feeling that they are insulting God by celebrating incorrectly.

I do know that is says in Daniel 9:27 in the NIV :

He will confirm a covenant with many for one ‘seven.’ In the middle of the ‘seven’ He will put an end to sacrifice and offering. And at the temple He will set up an abomination that causes desolation, until the end that is decreed is poured out on Him.”

and

“Then some of the scribes and Pharisees answered Him, saying, “Teacher, we want to see a sign from You.” But He answered and said to them, “An evil and adulterous generation craves for a sign; yet no sign shall be given to it but the sign of Jonah the prophet. For just as Jonah was three days and three nights in the belly of the fish; so shall the Son of Man be three days and three nights in the heart of the earth.” Matthew 12:38-40

So yes, they are right. He died on Wednesday and rose 3 days later! I see it in the Bible!!

Let me throw this idea out there though, that I am going with and choose to follow.

My Savior died for me. He rose again 3 days later and I should celebrate that every single day the King of Kings gives me breath in my lungs!! I should not just whiddle it down to one single day marked on the calender that man has picked to use for acknowledgement of His sacrifice for me and His miracle of life everlasting! If I do not praise Him daily, then I personally am not giving Him the honor and respect and worship that only He deserves.

That being said, I worship my Savior every single day, BUT I am going to celebrate on Easter Sunday as well. I am going to use this time to put out a cross in my window, hang signs that say “He is RISEN” and make Resurrection biscuits. I am going to see if my non believing friends want to go to church with me and hear the amazing message that Jesus Christ has died and rose again! I am going to use this time of bunnies and plastic eggs to share the word of the Lord with others! I am going to rejoice LOUDLY with others on this day we call Easter, that our Savior is ALIVE!!  I am part of this world that man has corrupted and luckily  has a small bit of Jesus still not completely destroyed.  I am going to be part of that small bit and I am going to help make it SHINE!!! Maybe my light on that day, my words and/or my actions will change another’s heart and bring them into His loving arms :)

Yes, I realize I can and should do this every day as well. I do to an extent. I am always professing my love for God. I have my decorations that are out daily and my clothing choices that share His ministry across my chest. I am just choosing to make this day an extra “burst” of Jesus love! Random people are more accepting of my sharing of His Word at this time. So I am totally gonna use it!! All for His glory!!

If you choose to celebrate or not, I respect your choice. Either way I just pray that you choose the most important choice:

JESUS.

Leave a Reply

