Truth and my Teen

I had another woman’s meeting group that really was inspiring.

I really love my meetings!

They fill me with the Holy Spirit! Just being around my sisters in Christ uplifting each other and praying for each other…it is beyond words what it can do for your heart. If you have never been, and you are a woman, I would strongly encourage you to join one. If you are a man, I can only assume that brothers in Christ do the same for each other and you should get involved with them as well.

Anyway, this meeting was very heart-felt. I know I was meant to be there. We had a lesson on the five most important truths to teach your teens. The points were wonderful and I will sum them up for you because they were great.

1) To suffer well– let them know that life is rough but GOD is Good!

2) Work unto the Lord– “work” is a calling not a job. The word vocation is based in latin meaning, calling from God. All work is sacred and only you can do the work that God has planned for  you to do. So work only to impress God, not man.

3) Manage your life wisely– God will hold you accountable  to the use of your talent. God has an investment in you and expects a return.

4) Make wise choices– make “holy” choices. Holy means special not everyday or mundane. Gods goal is to make you holy.

5) Live grace filled lives– Grace is the greatest gift we received on the cross. Grace is unconditional. Grace produces the fruit of the Spirit. Grace produces gratitude toward God. By grace you were saved through faith and it is free to us, but so costly to God.

**Life Message**

You were created to receive grace and to then give it away.

Isn’t that a great reminder? It was for me. Some days the teen tries so hard to be “cool” and I try so hard to protect him from being “cool” because I do not want him hurt. I need to let go. Let him fall. He will be the husband of my future daughter in law, the father of some of my grandchildren, the leader of his household, the provider of not only monetary things but the spiritual in his home. He must be strong in his faith and his choices. He can’t learn this if I make all his choices for him. He needs to know that if he does blow it, his dad and I will be here for him. He needs to know how to repent for what transpired. He then needs to know in his heart, that he has God’s grace. His  sin is not a forever failure.

When he was a toddler, I helped him learn how to walk. I had to let him fall (safely) so that he could learn how to get back up again and continue walking. He did great!!

When he was a young boy, we helped him learn how to ride a bike. We eventually let go of the seat and let him ride alone. Yes he fell. Boy was he mad! He still could ride by himself, not that he wanted to so much after a really good spill, but he can ride himself.

Now as a young man, the tumbles he has in front of him are much bigger and more painful. It will be hard to let him fall. I have to remember to that as much as I love my son and as much as I want to protect him, God loves him so incredibly much more! He wants my son safe. There is no better protector!!  Even when I cannot be there at the tumble, God will be there. Then my husband and I will be available to reenforce Gods truths to him. We will be there to help him get back on track and advise him to be making wise choices not to go down that bumpy road again! Help guide his thoughts back to God’s grace and living the holy life he was created for. Then we will have to let go again and see what happens.

The best part of our teaching that day was that our son that week had been on a path where on the left was a tumble and the right was sturdy ground. My husband and I stepped back from the situation and allowed our son to make his first “grown-up” decision alone. This was so hard to do without me just jumping in and telling him what to do!! Could he not see all the bad that would come from making this decision incorrectly?? Ugh!! Yet he was told to pray. He had one week to make his decision, right or wrong this would be his choice. He did pray. He wanted God to actually speak to him like from a burning bush or something. Have Him actually say “DO THIS” and then do it…who does not want that?? Since my son is Michael and not Moses, he had to pray harder and listen more intently. That is hard work.

The day of our teaching was the day my son had to give us his answer.

I was so happy to hear in the class that we may have actually parented right all on our own!! Ha ha ha!!

The teen made the best choice possible. Most importantly, he made the WISE choice all on his own. His first “manly” decision.

We let go of his hands and he did not fall this time.

The first of many steps, choices, sure footings and falls I am sure.

We will just continue to teach our son to call out to Him before or if need be after choices are to be made.

Proverbs.9.10Proverbs 9:10

Picture found at The Raven.

Leave a Reply

